Memebox Night Care

Ok, let’s get started! I am going to work backwards with the most recent box that I received and will add in links to individual product reviews as and when I do them.

The last box that I received before the Memebox closure announcement (see my post on that here) was the Night Care box, which was renumbered as #1 (the first box of 2015). This box was $29 plus shipping of $6.99 (£24.50 approx) and has a Memevalue (the term often used by Meme customers for their sometimes inflated prices) of $139 (£92.40 approx).

This box did not have an info card (a card detailing the contents and how to use them) but instead had a card with a link to the website where you could find the same information. (here)

This was a very annoying change by Memebox and one that thankfully, they changed back for the last few after this. I don’t know about you but I keep the stash of cards close by for constant reference and having to print out the information is one step too far for lazy old me.

DSCN0444

The Box! (Please excuse the quality of the pictures – my uncle gave me his old camera and I am still getting used to it! This was my first batch).

Contents

1. HEART FACE Ultra Pore Care Sleeping Pack 100ml
Full size product: 100ml ($14)

Carefully formulated through the science of fermentation, this Ultra Pore Care Sleeping Pack carries 100% concentrated ferments from galactomyces and natural herbal complex, hyaluronic acid, and aloe vera to deeply nourish and rejuvenate the skin overnight to reveal suppler, firmer skin. The non-sticky formula absorbs quickly and smoothly and also helps treat acne prone skin.

How to use:
Apply the sleeping pack generously over the face as the last step to night time skin care.

427192107

Ingredients (copied from the sticker covering the other ingredients!): Aqua, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Polyacrylate-13 / Polyisobutene / Polysorbate20, Galactomyces Ferment Filtrate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (and) Glyceryl Polymethacrylate (and) Prepylene Glycol, Alcohol Denat, Polyglutamic Acid, Phenyl Trimethicone, Chlorphenesin, Betaine, Methylparaben, Lonicera Japonica (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Paeonia Albiflora Root Extract, Sophora Angustifolia Root Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Prunus Persica (Peach) Leaf Extract, Rhus Semialata Gall Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Disodium ETA, Fragrance.

My Thoughts

I adore the packaging… it is so pretty (in real life not in my photos!).
This sleeping pack was the first spoiler for this box and the reason I decided to buy it, as I had heard great things about this product by bloggers and Facebook posts alike. I am a bit confused by the ingredients list as it is different underneath the sticker on the box (new formulation?) and also different in various places online.

The proof will be in the pudding, so to speak! I have not tried this sleep mask yet as I have one open but depending on expiry date this little chappie may be my next victim………………sorry, next product used!

The description sounds like this pack will be ideal for my very oily, yet dehydrated skin type. Anything that will potentially help my ginormous pores is all right by me! I have been using other products with galactomyces ferments (see upcoming product reviews) and I find that they really suit me.
It has a gel-cream texture and that is ideal, as I often find traditional creamy creams (seriously, that IS the technical term) a bit heavy for my skin. I don’t really suffer from acne anymore, just the occasional hormonal spot, so I won’t be able to test out that part of the claims.

Nourished, Rejuvenated, Suppler, firmer skin though?? Yes, please!

This mask is available at Tester Korea (TK) for 35,000 Won (approx. £21+) , plus postage dependent on what you order. This is a Want (W) product on there, which means that someone has requested it and therefore it is at retail price.

2. MYPU; Black Pearl & Gold Velvet Gel Eye Patch 1.1g X 60ea
Full size product: 1.1g X 60ea ($30)

Each Black Pearl & Gold Velvet Gel Eye Patch is formulated with a blend of premium collagen, hyaluronic acid, black pearl extracts and other essential concentrates to keep your under-eye skin moist, soft and firm. Revive a healthier you by deeply soothing and treating dark circles and fine wrinkles under eyes!

How to use:
Cleanse face thoroughly. Place the gel patches under eyes. Remove after 20~30 minutes. Pat in the remaining essence.

427204970

427210243

Ingredients: Purified Water, Dipropylene Glycol, Butylene Glycol, Citrus Unshiu peel extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Chondrus Crispus (Carrageenan), Pentylene Glycol, Ceratonia Siliqua Gum, Cyamopsis Tetragonoloba (Guar) Gum, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Potassium Chloride, Sodium Hyaluronate, Algae Extract, Glucose, Charcoal Powder, Colloidol Gold (100ppm, 1%), Rose Extract, Chamomilla Recutita leaf extract, Punica Granatum Fruit Extract, Tea Tree Extract, Eucalyptus Extract, Collagen, Glycine Soja Phytoplacenta Extract, Fragrance, Disodium EDTA, Mica, Pearl Powder.


My Thoughts

Very classy packaging, I like the black and gold. I do like these sort of eye patches and these have some very decent sounding moisturising ingredients. I wear contact lenses / glasses and my eyes have really suffered over the years, especially with too much rubbing for the fine skin there. Consequently, I have ‘some’ fine lines at the side of my eyes when I smile and I am hoping that using these sort of products along with eye creams (which I have been sorely lacking doing previously) will hydrate and lessen the appearance of these, as well as prevent them getting worse in the future.

I am very much enjoying some Black Rice Hydrogel ones that I received in an earlier box (Wish Upon a Mask) and I like relaxing with these on and I have also been putting a whole eye type of patch (the Purederm cucumber ones from the Miracle Masks Box) over the top for added cooling and refreshing when my eyes have been feeling especially gritty and tired.

Apparently you can melt these eye patches down after use so that you can then use the remaining essence – I have no idea how to do that but I will look into it when I do the individual product review (which I will link here).

Unfortunately, I cannot find these available to buy to the UK online. There are a couple of listings on ebay for the US. Tester Korea does stock some very similar sounding ones by different brands which may be worth a go and I’m sure other stockists have similar.

3. AVEC MOI Mask 4 Set
Full size product: 8g + 16g + 16g + 4.5g ($33)

1) Pony Tail Silky Treatment Pack 8g

Experience hair salon results at home with a rich blend of pito collagen, bean protein, silk protein, botanical plus-10, argan oil, olive oil, shea butter, and royal jelly. This hair treatment pack is easy to wear with no need to rinse off afterwards and most importantly deeply nourishes, softens, and strengthens your hair dehydrated and damaged from all those years of blow-drying and hair dyes.

How to use:
Tie up your hair into a high pony tail and place the pony tail into the hair pack, fastening the opening with the provided hair elastic to hold it in place. Gently massage to facilitate absorption of nutrients. Take off the pack after 5~30 minutes.

427220421If it also makes my lips that pouty, I will be one happy lady!

Memebox nightcare Avec Moi hair(Source)

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, Mineral Oil, Cetearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Microcrystalline Wax, Polysorbate 60, Butyrospermum Park II (Shea) Butter, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Sodium Polyacrylate, Butylene Glycol, Natto Gum, Hydrolyzed Silk, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Olea Eurpoaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Sodium Hyaluronate, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract, Monarda Didyma Leaf Extract, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Leaf Extract, Freesia Refracta Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower/Leaf Extract, Rosmarinus Officnalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Royal Jelly Extract, Aminopropyl Dimethicone, Glycine, Glutamic Acid, Lysine HCL, Serine, Aspartic Acid, Proline, Leucine, Arginine, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Cimicifuga Racemosa Root Extract, Pilygonum Multiflorum Root Extract, Phellinus Linteus Extract, Angelica Gigas Root Extract, Morus Alba Bark Extract, Paeonia Lactiflora Root Extract, Sophora Angustifolia Root Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Sodium Benzoate, Chlorphenesin, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance

My Thoughts

Ok, I do have long hair but I have never conditioned it like this! It is half way down my back and dyed a sort of purple red (‘Ultra Violet’ according to the packet). It is very fine and generally a bit shit. It is one of my many bug bears in life. If this does anything like it promises I will buy the world supply (would need to win the lottery first!). I am willing to give it a go. Come back for further instalments!

2) Shea Butter Special Care Foot Mask 16g

This is a deeply moisturizing foot mask enriched with shea butter, macadamia oil, vitamin E, and fresh herbal complex to replenish and soften dry, calloused skin on your foot. Its gentle formula is free of paraben, benzophenone, artificial pigment, etc.

How to use:
Wash both feet thoroughly. Separate the foot mask along the dotted line and wear each on each foot, fastening with the provided sticker. It’s recommended to massage the feet to facilitate absorption of nutrients. Remove after 15~20 minutes.

DSCN0557Loving the smiley!

Memebox nightcare Avec Moi feet(Source)

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, PEG-8, Mineral Oil, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Cetearyl Alcohol, Peg-40 Stearate, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Royal Jelly Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Macadamia Integriflolia Seed Oil, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Stearic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Carbomer, Potassium Hydroxide, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Illicium Verum (Anise) Fruit Extract, Disodium EDTA, Betaine, Urea, Salicylic Acid, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract, Thymus Vulgaris (Thyme) Flower/Leaf Extract, Pelargonium Graveolens Extract, Melaleuca Alternifoia (Tea Tree) Leaf Extract, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Leaf Extract, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Extract, Mentha Spicata Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Melissa Officinalis Leaf Extract, Origanum Vulgare Leaf Extract, Fragrance

My Thoughts

Since discovering K Beauty I have heard a lot about foot peeling. There are many products by most of the well known brands that will ‘encourage’ your feet to peel and slough away all that nasty, hard dry skin. I have not yet tried this wondrous process but I have heard many encouraging reports of it’s effectiveness and indeed, have one to try from the Scrub 2 box.

Apparently, the process can be moved along by soaking and moisturising your feet during the week to 2 weeks that this magical process gets to work …and that is what I am going to use this mask for! I intend to do this come spring, so that I (hopefully!) have the feet of a baby come exposure time! How much exposure time they get is entirely dependent on the British weather and also whether I can be bothered to stop wearing my very comfy and practical (pretty much glued to my feet) biker boots.

NB: I don’t usually moisturise my feets … they are extremely ticklish, even if it is me doing it. Seriously, I once almost kicked a masseuse in the face whilst having a very posh Hot Stone massage at a very nice hotel in Mexico …..and I actually did kick a cowboy in the noggin on the same holiday, as he helped me up bareback (and bare foot) onto a horse on the beach. (Hell, at least I didn’t have the aforementioned boots on, I doubt he would have much of a face left!)

I say this, as this sort of mask may be a very good way of getting some moisture into a much neglected part of my body.

3) Camellia Special Care Hand Mask 16g

This is a pair of replenishing hand masks formulated from a nourishing blend of camellia extracts, collagen, vitamin E, argan oil, and natural herbal complex. They’re easy to wear and leave dry, rough hands significantly softer and suppler.

How to use:
Wash hands thoroughly. Separate the hand mask along the dotted line and wear each on each hand. Gently massage both hands together. Remove after 15~20 minutes.

DSCN0551Another friendly mask packet!

Memebox nightcare Avec Moi hands(Source)

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, PEG-8, Mineral Oil, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Cetearyl Alcohol, Peg-40 Stearate, Camellia Japonica Seed Oil, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Tocopheryl Acetate, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Orbitan Sesquioleate, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Stearic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Carbomer, Potassium Hydroxide, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Illicium Verum (Anise) Fruit Extract, Disodium EDTA, Betaine, Urea, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Punica Granatum Fruit Extract, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Rosa Canina Fruit Extract, Aesculus Hippocastanum (Horse Chestnut) Extract, Thymus Vulgaris (Thyme) Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Solanum Tuberosum (Potato) Pulp Extract, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Extract, Fragrance

My Thoughts

A Hand mask! Not much more to say other than luckily my hands are not as sensitive as my feet. I have traditionally neglected them though …. Really, a LOT.
I only started using a hand cream at the end of November when I received one that I absolutely loved in a box. I am now onto my second and will be ordering more of the first very soon. So my more neglected hands could probably do with some serious pampering. I am sure I will enjoy these masks, although looking at the image above I will feel a bit like a serial killer whilst wearing them.

Dexter-Latex-Gloves(Source)

4) Intensive Nail Pack 4.5g

This Intensive Nail Pack is made with cacao seed butter, milk protein, hydrolyzed bean protein, hydrolyzed collagen, honey, macadamia oil, and more naturally derived ingredients for delivering intensive moisture resurge and rich nourishment to dry, cracked nails.

How to use:
Wash hands thoroughly. Separate the nail pack into 10 smaller packs and wear them over each finger. Remove after 15~20 minutes.

DSCN0564More smiley fun …

Memebox nightcare Avec Moi nails(Source)

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Dimethicone, PEG-100 Stearate, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Milk Protein Extract, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Honey Extract, Macadamia Integrifolia Seed Oil, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Xanthan Gum, Phenoxyethanol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Illicium Verum (Anise) Fruit Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Punica Granatum Fruit Extract, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Althaea Officinalis Root Extract, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Fruit Extract, Mentha Rotundifolia Leaf Extract, Garcinia Mangostana Peel Extract, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Polyacrylamide, Laureth-7, Sodium Benzoate, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance

My Thoughts

These are little pouches that you wear over the end of each finger. I often get overgrown cuticles, most likely a result of the aforementioned lack of general hand care. I hope these may help.
I have another brand to try as well in comparison from the original Thumbs Up box.

Which will be more effective? ..

fight1(Source)

Again I have found it difficult to find this brand to buy online. However, there are plenty of similar products out there in the usual places.

4. TOSOWOONG Natural Pure Snail Essence 60ml
Full size product: 60ml ($24)

With its formula consisting 20% of pure snail mucin filtrates and 40% of fresh birch tree leaf water, this Natural Pure Snail Essence from Tosowoong is a miracle worker for skin brightening and anti-wrinkle results. It not only moisturizes and firms up dry, sagging skin but also helps fight all sorts of skin problems – acne, blemishes, uneven moisture & oil balance, etc.

How to use:
Apply the essence over your face after toner application. Gently pat it in for full absorbance. Follow with emulsion and/or cream.

100001313972089pizapw1423496676Yum, snail!!

Ingredients: only in Korean, if anyone can translate please comment. I will try and find or do a translation for when I do a product review.

My Thoughts

Although there is not an English ingredients list, the box does list the main important ones on the front, they are: Aronia Melanocarpa Fruit Extract (Black Chokeberry), Betula Alba (Birch) Leaf Water, Snail Secretion Filtrate and rh- Oligopeptide – 1 (EGF).

I generally do trust Tosowoong products however. I am accumulating quite a stash of this brand from my boxes. I think I have the entire Syn-ake line, an aloe product and a Bee one. I am using the absolutely wonderful Benton Snail Bee Essence in the mornings at the moment and have had amazing results. I have, in fact, purchased back-ups. I will look forward to including this at night when I have finished my current night essence and I will see if it is as good (fight!!? No?)

This is available on ebay from Tosowoong themselves. It looks like you are better off bidding though as the cost to ‘Buy it Now’ is silly.  At the time of publishing, the starting bid was $9.80 (£6.50).

5. D’RAN Wonder Lifting Eye Cream 25g
Full size product: 25g ($35)

This Wonder Lifting Eye Cream from D’Ran will brighten and firm up the dry, thin skin around your eyes. Enriched with a moisturizing blend of beta glucan, macadamia see oil, argan oil, jojoba seed oil, and EGF, it gently protects the sensitive skin while replenishing and balancing out the skin tone from within.

How to use:
Apply the eye cream gently using your ring finger.

pizap.com14234969547841Please work!

Ingredients: Water, Macadamia Integrifolia Seed Oil, Glycerin, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Diisostearyl Malate, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Cetearyl Alcohol, Butylene Glycol, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Niacinamide, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Betaine, Glyceryl Stearates, Cetearul Alcohol, Myristic Acid, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Polyglyceryl-3 Methylglucose Distearate, Cyclomethicone, Microcrystalline Wax, Panthenol, Dimethicone, Beta-Glucan, Snail Secretion Filtrate, Acacia Seyal Gum Extract, Bees Wax, Arbutin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Allantoin, Human Oligopeptide-1, Copper Tripeptide-1, Camellia Sinensis Callus Culture Extract, Adenosine, Xanthan Gum, Caffeine, Phenoxythanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance

My Thoughts

This D’Ran Wonder Lifting Eye Cream has some very interesting ingredients and although this is my first product from this brand I have heard generally good things about them. As I said previously, I do get some fine lines and thin skin (although definitely not dry) so I am hoping to improve this. I have recently started one I received from another K Beauty fan (Thanks Martha!!) but I do get through them fairly quickly and this will likely be next.

I cannot find this available to buy online at the moment. A TK (Tester Korea) request may be in order if this proves miraculous.

6. SWITCH PATCH Elephant 3-Step! Black Head Nose Pack 7g
Full size product: 7g ($3)

This is an easy 3-step nose pack for opening up, unclogging, and tightening back your pores for treating excess blackheads on the nose. The step 1 is a cotton mask sheet enriched with witch hazel water, lemon balm extracts, and grapefruit extracts and works to melt and extract the excess blackhead and sebum. The step 2 is a peel-off type nose pack made from lemon extracts and aloe vera leaf water. Lastly, the step 3 bio-cellulose mask sheet stretches out 8cm and effectively soothes and firms back the enlarged pores with a gentle blend of lavender, chamomile, and eucalyptus extracts.

How to use:
Place the step 1 sheet over clean nose and remove after 15~20 minutes. Wet nose with a little bit of water and place the step 2 sheet over. Remove after 10~15 minutes. Then again place the step 3 sheet over nose and remove after 5~10 minutes.

DSCN0533 Loving the elephant! Very Dumbo-esque

Ingredients: Again these are only in Korean. Will see if I can find a translation.
My Thoughts

I love anything that promises to do stuff to my pores! This is a one-time use pack (like the Avec Moi set), which is a shame as it is always better to try things more than once to get a real picture of whether they work or not.
I very much hope that my adorable blackheads are sucked up and disappear just like in the picture. If they close up the caverns as well, all the better. I will report back once the magic has happened (or not…)!

I found this pack on ebay for the wonderful price of US $114.99 for 10 packs!! Supply and demand! Of course, other brands make very similar packs for a lot less money in the usual places. I may purchase some and do a comparison in the future.

Conclusion

I think that Meme did a decent job curating this box. I will get use out of all the products, there are none I will pass on to others due to being unsuitable or not liking and although a few of the products are not really classed as night care specifically, it is a solid box and a good value for money. I do wish that there were more than one of the one use products though as always.

Thank you for reading my first proper review post and please let me know in the comments what you thought and if you have any complaints, compliments or ideas.

13 thoughts on “Memebox Night Care

  1. Well done Charlotte! A lot of thoughts and effort went into this post! I like how you also try to find where else to obtain the products and not relying on memeshop!! Well we can’t anymore 😛 but thanks for a lovely read 🙂 looking forward to your second post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Cherry! I never really bought much from the Memeshop anyway, only items with free shipping! I do wonder why some companies had their products put into boxes if they are generally not that readily available online – surely the whole point of promoting your stuff to a wider audience is to then expand your market?
      Working on the next posts! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Memebox Detox & Renew | Charlotte's Web : a beauty blog

  3. Pingback: Memebox Winter Essential Masks | Charlotte's Web : a beauty blog

  4. Pingback: K-Beauty Blog Hop #16 | Collected Moments

  5. Pingback: K-Beauty Blog Hop for Week 16 | Unboxing Beauty

  6. Pingback: MaskGenie – February Pouch Review | Charlotte's Web : a beauty blog

Leave a Reply

