Memebox Detox & Renew

thumbnail__6_detox_renew_7

Just before the awful announcement that Memebox was ceasing shipping to the majority of the world (discussed here) I ordered this very last box and a selection of value sets (coming up next) which arrived in super quick time (almost as if they couldn’t wait to be rid of us .. but probably because the Christmas backlog of parcels worldwide had finally cleared!)

I don’t really drink much anymore but the theme of Detox and Renew seemed perfect for a New Year treat and appealed most to me of all the boxes that they were selling at the time (of course if I had known that this would be it, I probably would have bought some of the others as well, especially a couple that I am a bit sore on missing out on now that I can’t have them! Bloody typical isn’t it?!)

Detox & Renew cost $29 + $6.99 shipping (£24.50 approx altogether) and has a memevalue of $159 (approx £103.25) for a total of 5 products. I miss them already!

This box DID have an info card! Hallelujah!!

DSCN0644

DSCN0647
DSCN0698

DSCN0699

Since Meme (in their infinite wisdom) has removed all traces of their life before their self-inflicted extreme isolation (seriously do they know something about the upcoming zombie apocalypse??) and this includes all information about previous boxes and products, the info card is even more welcome for future reference purposes.

Box Description

The cold weather months leaves us susceptible to get lazy on out skincare routine! But, did you know? The constant switching back and forth between central heating and frigid winds causes excessive dead skin build up and increases the rate at which pore-dwellers multiply and grow!

While “the more the merrier” applies to most things in life, the growing party of pore dwellers is never fun, and is definitely not a beautiful sight! To help you in your skincare predicament, we bring you our newest Detox & Renew box, perfectly curated to eliminate the deepest skin toxins, remove dead skin cells, clarify congested pores, and alleviate damage from internal and external aggressors. Each product in this box is a one-step solution on it’s own, addressing everything from large pores and clogging to brightening cloudy skin!

Take this box, your one and only solution for lustrous and healthy skin, use after use!

–  Honestly, I never usually read these as they don’t often seem to have much to do with the contents of the box – a lot of marketing bumpf basically!

Contents

1. GU:AAM METHOD Black Pearl Protein (Conchiolin) 35 Whitening Serum 60ml
Full size product: 60ml ($30)

This light-weight skin renewing serum is formulated with bifida, AHA, and black pearl protein to help support the natural cell renewal and toxin elimination. Powerful black pearl proteins eliminate toxins and dead skin cells in the skin and enhance the skin’s natural healing cycle to detox and renew the skin’s surface. The results? Skin is decongested, skin pollutants are removed, and skin is left looking brighter and firmer, more radiant and youthful-looking. Free from chemical preservatives, artificial fragrance, artificial colours, mineral oils, silicon oils, sulfates, parabens, and EDTA.

How to use:

Immediately after cleansing, Apply the serum on face avoiding eye area. For the areas often have rough skins such as T-zone, oil-zone, and around lips, apply twice at a time with sufficient amount of serum.

DSCN0652

Ingredients: Bifida Ferment Filtrate, Hydrolyzed Conchiolin Protein, Pearl Extract, Lactobacilius / Pumpkin Fruit Ferment Filtrate, Niacinamide, Lactic Acid, Rosa Centifolia Flower Water, Arginine, Lactic Acid (yes, twice!), Sodium Hyaluronate, Sclerotium Gum, Adenosine, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Potassium Hydroxide, Xanthan Gum, Illicium Verum (Anise) Fruit Extract, 1,2-Hexanediol, Propanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Galactomyces Ferment Filtrate, Ceramide 3, Kyounin Yu, Aspergilus / Rice Ferment Extract, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Extract, Carbonated Water, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Propolis Extract, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate.

My Thoughts
This serum has a pretty great list of ingredients. On the box they specify content of 35% Pearl Conchiolin, 5% Bio-Pearl Extract, 3% AHA and 48% Bifida Fermentation. I will try and look further into what all that goodness means when I review this product separately.

I really like the packaging of this. It looks serious and that gives me hope that it will be effective. It has an effective sucky dropper (technical term!) for application purposes, that distributes a good amount of the product. I have been using a couple of items with a similar dropper (the Migabee Honey ampoule and the Pro You Oil) and I do enjoy this way of distribution but generally prefer a pump nozzle for convenience sake. The serum doesn’t smell of anything to me, which is great and has a lovely silky consistency that sinks in really well and does not leave a tacky sticky finish like some serums do. I will be including this in my routine as soon as I have finished my current serum.

I don’t know about you though but every time I read ‘Black Pearl’ (here and in the last post with the eye patches) I think of this:

tumblr_m6isp5EPHF1qj2doh

Any excuse for those lovely faces right?

I could not find this product for sale online in the usual places (I will keep looking) but they do have a website at http://www.guaam.com/
This product is listed as 24,600 Won on there (about £14.50) and could possibly be purchased through a shipping service like Avecko (for more information on Avecko and how to use their service please see the wonderful post by Fan B here).

2. YADAH Anti Trouble Bubble Cleanser 150ml
Full size product: 150ml ($27)

Anti Trouble Bubble Cleanser has a foaming formula that delivers gentle acne medication and improves skin’s appearance. It uses Salicylic Acid technology provides a long-acting acne treatment that continues to fight acne and blemishes while herbal extracts soothe and bind moisture to skin to optimise hydration and restore suppleness. The micro bubbles helps to detoxify the pores by clarifying ‘dir and’ oil build up (?? the translation is worse than usual on this one) in the pores. It also helps to control excess oil secretion to prevent breakouts. Approved by the Korean Ministry of Food and Drug Safety administration, this cleanser is recommended as a step one cleanser in acne regimen.

How to use:
Massage a small amount over dampened face and neck. Rinse with warm water and pat dry.

DSCN0659

Ingredients: Water, TEA-Cocoyl Glumate, Glycerin, Salicylic Acid, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Perfume, Disodium EDTA, Aleo Barbadenisis Leaf Juice, Camellia Sinesis Leaf Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Extract, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Extract

My Thoughts
Again this product has some pretty impressive claims. As pH testing of skincare is all the rage at the moment (it can be especially useful for those with sensitive skin I understand – something that luckily I don’t suffer from) it is pleasing that this cleanser states that it has a ‘Low acid similar to skin pH’. I don’t have a testing kit myself but I’m sure someone will have a go with this and I will keep an eye out.

Yadah has a website in English (here). The graphics are amazingly cute and they have a whole page dedicated to the ingredients used in their products (here)

Yadah 1(Source)

Yadah 2(Source)

There are no links to the clinical tests mentioned but I will see if I can find further information.

I have used quite a few products with ‘sally acid’ in the past and although I no longer have too many spots (only the occasional hormonal – the one advantage of advanced age), I still quite enjoy using products with it in as I am still extremely shiny and have blackheads and it is known as an effective exfoliant, anti-irritant and anti-inflammatory, as well as the anti-microbial spot properties. I have vastly too many cleansers in my stash at the moment but I may push this one forward in the line up so that I can use it during the summer when it’s properties will be best utilised.

I have not been able to find this to buy online but Tester Korea have added other Yadah products to their range on request so that may be worth a go.

3. MAYN Bio Mineraltox Mist 100ml
Full size product: 100ml ($44)

Skin looking dull, tired, lifeless? Makeup looking cakey and not setting in? Bio Mineraltox Mist refreshes, detoxifies, and rejuvenates the skin with detoxifying lemon balm, apple mint, royal jelly, and more and propriety “secret beads” made with ions and mineral water. The micro mist instantly purifies, brightens, clears, and invigorates the skin cells that have been damaged by external aggressors such as dust, alcohol consumption and more for clearer pores, and plumper skin cells, the perfect canvas for absorbing skincare products and makeup.

How to use:
After shaking the mist, hold 20cm away from the face, and gently mist. Reapply as necessary.

DSCN0664

DSCN0669The balls!

Ingredients: all in Korean I’m afraid – will try to find a translation.

My Thoughts
This mist strangely reminds me of the maracas that I inevitably was given to play at junior school concerts (it was either that or the triangle) as I was a singularly unmusical child.

If you are not sure what I mean, when you shake the mist it sounds a bit like these (without the bells!):

maracas(Source)

I may have played with this for a few too many minutes…..I will be musical yet!

A few months ago the only facial mists that I had used were the Evian style pure mineral water ones, which do absolutely nothing but be cooling momentarily. All that changed when I found Memebox and the various sprays and mists they have sent me. They do however vary according to the ‘strength’ of the spray that they bestow upon you. Some have a lovely fine misting effect, like being kissed gently in the face by gossamer butterfly wings ……………….

……..others go splat!!

Luckily, this spray is a relatively fine one and I will not constantly feel as though I am taking part in the ALS ice bucket challenge (see here) whilst using it. At the moment I am only using a mist at night (the Priori Lavender one) mainly because I like the smell at bed time but I am saving the others for the summer, when my bedroom is not quite so Arctic.

Again, I can’t find this online, sorry. The best bets for getting hold of some are destashes on Facebook (I have already seen this pop up) and Tester Korea again.

4. ARAON Detox Skin Essence 100ml
Full size product:100ml ($34)

This detoxifying skin essence features a blend of naturally detoxifying ingredients to eliminate even the deepest skin toxins, giving the skin a brighter, more even toned complexion. Formulated with maple water, green tea extract, and other skin detoxifying and renewing ingredients, this essence smooths, plumps and detoxifies for luminous skin that appears visibly renewed.

How to use:
After cleansing, take 2 to 3 pumps of essence and gently massage into the skin. Use after serum.

DSCN0679

Ingredients: Acer Mono sap, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Water, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Water, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Water, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Water, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Water, Centella Asiatica Extract, Bifida Ferment Lysate, Gentiana Lutea Root Extract, Imperata Cylindrica Root Extract, Symphytum Officinale Leaf Extract, Glyceryl Acrylate / Acrylic Acid CoPolymer, 1,2- Hexanediol.

My Thoughts
Now this is interesting! An essence that specifies usage AFTER a serum. Usually I do this the other way around as it is generally agreed that it should go on thickness of product akin to the rate of absorbency into the skin. You start with the thinnest products (toner, essence) and work up to the thicker (serum, ampoules, oils, creams). The wonderful blogger Pico Prince made an gorgeous diagram to illustrate this and that can be found here.

I don’t know how thick this is as I will not open it at the moment. I have a number of other essences to use up first but it will be interesting to see whether the placement of this product makes a difference. Watch this space. It is a very generous size for an essence at 100ml so should last a while.

This is another product that is nigh on impossible to find online – I have no idea what these companies were thinking when providing their products to Memebox when they aren’t even available to purchase. Sort of defeats the object! Of course they could have envisaged an arrangement where Meme would sell their products in their shop .. if so, that definitely didn’t work out!

5. ESTHETIC HOUSE Vitamin 3000 Vitamin B Vita-Capsule Cream 30ml
Full size product: 30ml ($24)

This skin-renewing vitamin B cream helps to soothe irritated and inflamed. The innovative encapsulation technology allows for an effective delivery of pure, potent vitamin B to soothe irritated skin, and calm red, inflamed skin. Layer individually or blend with daily moisturiser to provide optimal results and create a powerful, multi-purpose product – designed to treat your skin’s unique needs.

How to use:
On cleansed and toned skin, apply cream over dark spots and problem areas. Mix a small amount with favorite skincare daily for optimal results.

DSCN0685
Ingredients: Only in Korean

My Thoughts
This sounds extremely interesting. Although my skin is not sensitive and does not often get irritated I am thinking that this may come in very handy in the summer for if I catch a bit too much sun.
I tend to go a bit red before I go brown … yes, I know BAD CHARLOTTE!! If this cream does soothe irritated and inflamed skin that sounds absolutely ideal. It is also unscented which is great for that usage and since it can be mixed with your current skincare I can customise it to my needs at the time.

And here’s a first for this review – this cream is available online! This version (at £6.48 / $9.97 and free shipping….. bargain!) and what looks like the entire range of vita capsule creams by Esthetic House are available to buy from Elysia-shop79. I haven’t used this seller myself but they have a 99.8% approval rating at the time of posting. This is the link for the B cream and this is the link for the shop itself.

Conclusion

This was definitely one of the better Memeboxes. It is well curated and the products are interesting, albeit unfortunately not widely available outside Korea (which is sort of the point of being introduced to new products?!). This box seems very well suited to my skin type and needs, especially for the upcoming (probably brief but hopefully not) British summer.

This was the last actual ‘mystery’ box that I received but I will review the Winter Essential Masks box next, which was the one that I got just before the Night Care box. Then bring on the Value sets!!

13 thoughts on “Memebox Detox & Renew

    • Oh that’s good. I hope you enjoy it. My skin has really seen some major improvements since starting to use essences and serums. I can’t wait to start using this once I have finished my current one. I think I will experiment trying it before and after serum if it is a thinner consistency…you never know whether anything has been lost in translation on a meme card!

      Like

  1. This looks like a great box and it’s one I wanted. But I was so grumpy with Meme and their talk-to-the-hand with the rest of the world, I refused to buy it. Now, seeing what they’ve got in the way of US boxes, I’m wishing I had swallowed my rage and bought this last good box. #kbeautybloghop

    Liked by 1 person

    • I bought this one a couple of days before the announcement luckily otherwise I may not have done. I wanted to get Moisturize or the anti ageing one but like you I was too pissed off with them!
      The new US boxes are so expensive and consequently poor value. Not sure what they are doing tbh 😉
      #kbeautybloghop

      Like

  2. Pingback: Memebox Winter Essential Masks | Charlotte's Web : a beauty blog

  3. Pingback: Memebox – Elizavecca Skincare Set Season 2 | Charlotte's Web : a beauty blog

  4. Pingback: Memebox – Skin Factory Value Set | Charlotte's Web : a beauty blog

Leave a Reply

