MaskGenie – February Pouch Review

logo

It still feels a bit bizarre writing this so long after the month in question but as it’s a review rather than an unpouching I hope that you don’t mind the strange juxtaposition of months! I am working my way through the March pouch at the moment and will hopefully be receiving the April one soon. I have also been a bit inconvenienced by severe tooth pain this month due to my mild brittle bones issues (nothing new but annoying!) which didn’t help my concentration at all. Several root canals and nerve extractions later, hopefully I will be pain free for a while 🙂


MaskGenie

You may notice from the new logo above that MaskGenie now has the new website (www.skinilove.com) up and running! So a couple of things have changed from January but not the important stuff:

‘MaskGenie is a monthly masks membership service, which delivers a beautifully packaged drawstring pouch straight to your door containing a variety of fun and exciting masks from Asia. Unlike other masks subscription services, MaskGenie gives you the freedom to choose what you buy and when you buy, so you never feel tied to anything. Throughout the year, there will also be Limited Edition Luxury Mask Pouches that you can purchase as an extra treat for yourself or for a friend.’

There are two options to choose from for the monthly pouches:

$22.00 (£15 approx) for 10 different masks

$12.00 (£8.20 approx) for 5 different masks

This includes all international shipping and as it is not a sub service, you just go onto the website (this is the change) every month and order your pouch. If you do this before the last friday of the month you will receive the next months pouch.

Genie will post a spoiler for each pouch on the Facebook page before the payment deadline and then a full unpouching video (link at the end for this one) when the pouches have been sent out so that you know what you are going to get! Some people watch because they have no self-restraint (me!) and some prefer a surprise when their pouch arrives! 🙂


The Pouch!

DSCN0925

Red this month! Again there is a little slip in the pouch referring you to the Facebook page for further information about the masks which is not my favorite thing (see January) and it is pretty tiresome to have to trawl down the page looking for the relevant one although now that the website is up and running the reviews of the ones that Genie has tried have been listed on there.

To be honest though, I am not always online when I want to use a mask and I’m not going to power up the laptop just to check for instructions / ingredients. I’m lucky in that I am not sensitive to anything in particular but I can see that not having the information to hand in the form of a card, would be especially annoying for people who do need to check beforehand. Out of 10 products this month, 3 have no instructions or ingredients in English and one other is obviously not a full list (with the generic ‘herb extracts’ listed). A small card with basic instructions and full ingredients would be wonderful but is only a small gripe really.

I have used all of 10 masks this month 🙂 I’ll do these, as ever, in the order that Genie presents them in her unpouching video. I’ll only list usage instructions if they are different from the norm (take out of pouch – put on face – wait – pat in essence – go about life as normal).


Mask No 1: Mediheal Capping Pack (possible variants: S.Q.S Midnight Capping Pack / W.H.P Shower Capping Pack) (Korea)

DSCN0946

I got one of the masks intended for use in the shower.

Description: 

W.H.P = White Hydrating Program. Wash off type pack to provide light and bright skin. Niacinamide whitening ingredients provide skin tone up. Prevent darkening giving clean and clear glowing skin. Firm cream clay formula.

How to Use:

1. After face wash, use toner and apply onto face avoiding eye and lip area.

2. After 15-20 minutes, rinse off with lukewarm water, finish with cold water.

Major Ingredients (full list in Korean):

Niacinamide Whitening mix, Rice Extract, Licorice Extract.

Review:

Although the variant that Genie used and introduced in her unpouching was the sleeping pack variant (She gave the sleeping mask 10/10 on the Facebook page), the main point of interest of these masks is the packaging which comes with a lid that you twist open, and then push back to close, so that it’s not just a single use mask. There is intended to be enough product for you to use 2-3 times.

shower capping(source)

You can all breathe a sigh of relief as I am not going to subject you to any hideous pictures of me in masks in this review. I have taken a few for the next one but as usual THIS is my face whenever a camera is aimed at it:

 me when people try to take my picture tallulah(With thanks to the lovely Darwin, Source)

This variant is a thick white clay type of mask which surprised me a little as being a hydrating / whitening mask I did not expect clay! The scent of this mask is very very floral (VERY!). I couldn’t pinpoint the scent exactly and since I have no idea what the ingredients are I can’t enlighten you but if you don’t like strong scents I would avoid this one as it is a quite old fashioned scent and it does linger and is still there when you are washing it off.

I don’t tend to take 20 minute showers as I don’t wash my hair in them (contact lens issues again!) so I just used this as a normal wash off mask. I had to find the information on how long to keep it on from the net, as there is nothing on the packet (this is when an informational card would come in handy).

The mask spreads fairly thickly and dries very quickly (within 5 minutes). I found the cap a little bit fiddly to close, especially the first time I used it when the pouch was more full, as it is difficult to do without putting pressure on the pouch itself and squirting mask everywhere. The pouch is also a bit of a strange shape and I found that the corners made it very difficult to extract the last bits of mask when it was almost finished so I think it is a bit wasteful to be honest. I used it three times but I was pretty generous so you would probably be able to eke it out for 4.

Whilst on my face it felt a little bit burny (which I almost never get with masks as I am not sensitive), it was a bit gritty when washing off but came off easily. My skin was a bit pink and felt tight and shiny not hydrated. It was definitely not whitened at all.

Unfortunately I would not buy this mask again as it did not suit me or do anything in particular.  It is a shame as I really liked the Mediheal Mogongtox Soda Bubble sheet from the last MaskGenie pouch and have already bought some more of those.

3/10

Where to buy:

Korea Depart: $1.49 / £1 (plus postage)

Sasa: $3.80 / £2.60 (plus postage)

Ebay: £3.95 / $5.84 for 2 (inc postage)


Mask No 2: Adin Herb Essence Mask (Korea)

DSCN0940

Description:

Enriched with extracts from herbs including rosemary, lavender, ginseng, lemon and others, it provides moisture and various nutrients to the tensed and stressed skin, and keeps it comfortable and healthy.  Formulated with Vitamin E, collagen and hyaluronic acid, it makes skin moist and elastic, and also reduces tension in the stressed skin and has astringent effect.  It is especially suitable for use when special care is needed, such as when the skin looks dull rather than vital, or when dryness is felt, it comforts skin through providing nutrition and moisture immediately as well as calming.

Ingredients:

Purified Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Hyaluronic Acid Extract, Hydroxyethyl Cellulose, Dipropylene Glycol, Methylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Collagen Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Herb Extract, Fragrance.

Special Instructions:

In Summer: Keep the package in refrigerator

In Winter: before using, soak the package 2-3 minutes in warm water.

Review:

Genie hadn’t tried this mask but included it because of the colour of the package and the herbs.

I was really looking forward to this mask, expecting a gorgeously scented relaxing, soothing experience as I love herbal scents but unfortunately this was just a bog standard every day mask. This was the first one that I used and it was before I started writing notes on the masks at the time but from what I can remember the smell was the most disappointing thing. It smelt more like toilet cleaner than delicious lavender and rosemary. It was a very synthetic smell and to be honest, to me it smelt a little bit ‘off’. I still have the empty pouch (I save them for this reason) and although I can detect a faint herbal smell, it still smells very strongly of a not very nice air freshener.

tumblr_medz4n222o1qaqsz7(source)

Luckily, the scent did not persist too long whilst on the face and the fit was average. I left it on for the full 30 minutes prescribed (I used the summer method as I like the added cooling effect). The results were just average as well. My face looked slightly moisturised but that was about it. Not one of my favorites and I did not find it particularly relaxing.

4/10

Where to buy:

Ebay: $2.89 / £1.95 (inc postage)


Mask No 3: Tuningface Essence Mask Sheet – Dramatic Lifting (Korea)

DSCN0941

There was a choice of three types from this brand – the yellow (Dramatic Lifting), blue (Different Moisturising) or pink (Amazing Brightening). I got the Yellow 🙂

Tuning Face1(source)

Description:

Younger skin of the face. Firming & Lifting Phyto-collagen helps anti-stress of skin. Volume: 23ml of essence

Ingredients:

Deionized Water, Glycerin, Dipropylene Glycol, Ethyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Betaine, Polysorbate 20, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Natto Gum / Pectin, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Allantoin, Phenoxyethanol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Disodium EDTA, Soluble Collagen, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Rose Water, Aloe Ferox Leaf Extract, Green Tea Extract, Hyaluronic Acid, Peptide, Fragrance

Review:

With the name ‘Dramatic Lifting’ I was expecting miracles ……of the DRAMATIC variety!!

Although Genie had not tried this mask prior to the video unpouching she did try it later and gave this one 7/10. Here is her Facebook picture to show the fit of this one:

Feb tuningface(source)

I had this mask in the fridge for a good few hours before use and followed the instructions on the back to pat the pouch prior to opening to distribute the essence (In fact I shook it out a few times for good measure as I can’t see patting doing much at all!)

The smell of this one was AMAZING! Genie described it as bananas and cherries. I agree, with perhaps a hint of pear and rather than fresh fruit I think it smells more like glacé cherries and fruit schnapps or a fruity cocktail (perhaps that was wishful thinking!)

nice-smell(source)

When looking at the ingredients there are no fruits listed BUT there is alcohol, so that may be where my craving for cocktails came from 😉

NB: A lot of research has been done into Alcohol in skincare products. The consensus is usually that it is a bad thing. Personally, I have never had any problems with it – probably because I have very oily skin. I do know that people with sensitive or very dry skin would be best to avoid products containing it in higher levels. I try to always list the ingredients in these products so that you can make an informed decision if it is something that you would rather avoid. I hope to write a post (or a few) in the future pulling together the most recent research about various pertinent skincare ingredients as I do love to research things! Let me know if you would be interested in the comments.

The fit of this mask was a bit weird. It had a lot of pockets and folds that wouldn’t smooth out (as I think you can see in Genie’s picture).. You would smooth one and another would pop up next to it! The eye holes were a bit too small and felt like the material was encroaching onto my eye from one side or another but the fit around the sides of the nose was good and snug although the perennial problem of air bubbles caused by too much material across the bridge of the nose reared up again. There was plenty of material to fold under the chin.

I removed the mask after about 30 minutes and it was still pretty damp. My skin looked smooth, healthy and clear and very slightly plumped up, especially the nose / mouth lines. I also noticed that a couple of blemishes appeared lighter. My skin did not feel sticky even after I added the excess essence.

But ‘Dramatic lifting’?? I don’t know! My skin felt a little tighter but that was about it. False advertising, lol.

This was a decent everyday mask. I wouldn’t go out of my way to purchase it but I would use it again and I’d try the other two in the range.

7/10

Where to buy:

Tester Korea: 1000 won / £0.62 / $0.91 (plus postage)


Mask No 4: Deary Invisible Elastic Mask – Chamomile Arbutin Whitening (Taiwan)

DSCN0945

This was another mask with some variations sent out. We could have received Pomegranate Renewing and Whitening, Edelweiss Hyaluronic Acid Moisturising, Chamomile Arbutin Whitening or (thank fuck I didn’t get) Rose Idebenone Whitening. The mask gods were smiling on me again 🙂

Description:

Reduces the appearance of annoying dark spots and acne scars, leaving your skin feeling perfectly petal-supple! The Azulene and bisabolol extracted from chamomile are combined with marigold essence to repair, soften and brighten skin. This mask soothes irritation while bolstering the skin’s natural defenses against environmental damage. A DOH-approved skin-whitening agent, arbutin helps to reduce melanin production and fade spots; it clears and evens out the skin tone. The dullness-reducing African potato extract is combined with pearl powder, rich in amino acids and trace elements, to make your skin radiate from within. 

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerine, 1,3-Butylene Glycol, 1,3-Propanediol (Zemea®), Hydrolyzed Silk, Algae Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Chamomile Extract, Calendula Extract, Arbutin, Hypoxis Rooperi Rhizome Extract, Pearl Powder, Hydroxyethyl Cellulose, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Nicotinamide, Allantoin, Methyl P-Hydroxybenzoate, Methylisothiazolinone, Fragrance.

Review:

This mask has got some great ingredients and although this was again one of the first ones that I tried out of this pouch (pre-notepad) I did quite like it.

The fit of this mask was pretty good – as shown below by the lovely Genie (with the Edelweiss variety):

Feb Deary mask

There were no superfluous air pockets and folds. There was plenty of essence with this mask and it smelt really nice – it kind of  reminds of something but I really can’t remember what! I think it is a skincare item that I have used abroad as it conjures up holidays in Germany and Austria for me (I know! I’m really weird with smells. They remind me of places but not of what they are 🙂 ). I think that the smell is actually that of Chamomile and possibly Calendula (Marigold) as a lot of skincare products contain them. The scent is mild anyway so will not annoy. I fell asleep in this mask as it was a very soothing smell and after removing, my face felt very hydrated and soft.  A good every day mask and I would like to try the others (apart from the Rose obviously!).

Update: I asked my father to sniff the mask pouch and the winner is SAVLON!! That would be why it reminded me of holidays … adventures with so many scrapes and bruises!

7/10

Where to buy:
Amazon.co.uk: £6.95 (plus £3.99 delivery) (Box of 5)
Ebay: $10.99 (Box of 5) (only ships within US)
Amazon.com: $10.99 (Box of 5)

Mask No 5: Secret Key Gung Solution Doctor’s Mask – Lifting (Korea)

DSCN0937

There was a selection this time between Pink (Lifting with Peptide and Collagen), Yellow (Brightening with gradual illumination of the skintone by Vitamin C and Lemon), Green (Calming and soothing with Tea Tree and Aloe Vera) and Blue (Moisturising with Hyaluronic Acid and Ceramide).

secret key masks(source)

Description:

Power lifting care mask for elastic skin. Filling skin from deep down with skin-elasticity improving contents – peptide and collagen. For smoother and sharper face line and skin that lack nourishment. Silky and thin mask fits on your face , which material passed non-heavy metal test of Fiti test centre.
– Improving skin elasticity
– moisturising
– nourishing

Main Ingredients:

Peptide, Collagen, Human Oligo Peptide-1 (Full list is in Korean)

Review:

For more about the brand Secret Key itself please see my Secret Key Memebox post.
The Gung Solution range is Secret Key’s cosmeceutical, dermatological range of masks. This is a cotton blend face sheet mask with eye flaps for if you like to lie down and relax with your mask on. Here is Genie with the Blue Moisturising mask on:

I found the pouch a bit difficult to open because of its shape at the top and almost resorted to scissors but just about managed.

This mask has a mild creamy scent, sort of reminiscent of hand cream. Slightly floral but very subtle. There is tonnes of essence on a decent thickish sheet and I found the fit to be very good, apart from the ever problematic nose area. The nose flap was very short and narrow and I had to gently stretch it slightly. There was plenty of material to overlap at the chin, which helps the mask to feel snug. I found the eye and mouth holes an ideal size for me and I do enjoy the eye flaps as I like to lie down and relax with a mask on if I can. Genie cut the eye flaps off and used them at the sides of the nose, which is a great idea for when you just don’t have the time to lie down.

I had put this mask in the fridge for a good few hours before use and when on it felt lovely, relaxing and cooling and I fell asleep for approximately one hour. The mask itself was dry by this time but my skin underneath still felt moist. My skin looked plumped up and my nose/mouth lines were definitely more shallow and less noticeable. My face felt firmer and more bouncy! Not sure if ‘lifted’ exactly but definitely healthy, clear and nourished. I did notice that the pores around my nose looked a little open but since this mask was not supposed to be dealing with them I didn’t mind so much and it caused no issues.

I liked this mask and saw a noticeable difference after use. In fact I have already bought and received one of the Moisturising variety from a UK sale and 3 of each of the others from Beauty Net Korea (see below) on ebay.  I may review the lot 🙂

8/10

DSCN1572

Where to buy:

Beauty Net Korea: $4.50 / £3 (for 3, postage included) (The link is for the Lifting variant but the others are there too)

Beauty Net Korea on Ebay: $4.49 / £3 (for 3, postage included)


Mask No 6: Foodaholic Snail Natural Essence Mask (Korea)

DSCN0944

Description:

The optimum skin condition is maintained by snail extract to make elastic and moisturising. For elasticity and nutrition, Contains Snail Secretion Filtrate. Filled skin with rich moisture and makes the skin tight and shiny. It gives your skin a fresh cool feeling and is rich with moisture and nourishment for healthier skin. This mask will tighten your skin and provide long lasting moisture with moisture retaining properties. All Foodaholic Natural Essence Masks keeps the moist hydrating sense based on silky touch and excellent contact of 3D shape natural pulp mask.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin, Alcohol, Butylene Glycol, Trehalose, Panthenol, Methylparaben, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Snail Secretion Filtrate (0.1%), Beta-Glucan, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance, Corydalis Ochotensis Extract, Chenopodium Album Flower Extract, Lactuca Indica Extract, Draba Nemorosa Extract.

Review:

Foodaholic does a whole range of 3D masks (mostly food related unsurprisingly) that are relatively cheap and readily available. Again this was a pre-notepad mask but I do remember that the fit of this mask was great! The fact that it is 3D means that rather than a simple shape cut out of a circle of material, more care seems to have been taken and areas like the nose and chin adhere more closely to the natural curves of your face, with seams (one main one down the centre to fit the curve of your face) and slits around the edges so that you can adjust the fit. It is snug and cups the chin very well especially.

fdmk-0001-02(source)

The shape also makes it easier to do things whilst you are wearing it (hoovering, aerobics?), without fear of it falling off…….not that I do that.  I’m all about the relaxing with my mask on watching some great TV.

Game of thumps Bun Hatter FB

Yes, that IS a throne made out of asparagus. There are people more crackers than me out there!

As Genie says in her unpouching video, this mask will fit all sizes of face including men. The mask is easy to put on and smells very slightly earthy to me. It has a very mild smell though. There is not a lot of the slightly thick essence but plenty for the time that you will be wearing it.The sheet is made out of a natural wood pulp so do not be surprised if it is not entirely white and pristine – there may be natural marks and spots in the material as it won’t have been bleached and treated. When I removed this mask, my skin looked glowing, bright and shiny. It gave a good moisturising and nourishing boost without stickiness. I really liked this one and plan to buy some (ok, a lot!) of the others in the range to try out 🙂

8/10

Where to buy:

Beauty Net Korea: $3.15 / £2.15 (for 3 of one type, shipping included)

Tester Korea: 500 won / £0.31 / $0.46 (each, plus shipping)

Ebay: £2.50 / $3.70 (for 3, inc shipping)


Mask No 7: My Beauty Diary Black Pearl Mask (Taiwan)

DSCN0931

Description:

Recommended for normal skin types in need of a radiance boost. Purpose: Optimal Whitening, Brightening and Moisturizing.

Containing rich vitamins, minerals and Amino acids, the finest Black Pearl essence from Tahiti can rapidly moisturize tired and dark skin. Accompanied by hydrolyzed yeast proteins, optimal whitening extract in Vitamin C as well as the patented long-lasting moisturizing ingredient Cosphingo™, it rejuvenates the skin to its original smoothness and softness, reviving skin to its flawless, fair nature. The deep-sea Red Algae and the water-like active factor of Malvasylvestris extract can instantly release skin from dryness and enhance its adjustment to the environment. The Sugar Maple complex and the highly effective moisturizing essence in sugar cane bring intense hydration, leaving he skin translucent and moisturizes. Does not contains Paraben preservatives, alcohol or fluorescent agents.

Ingredients:

Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Sodium Hyaluronate, Ananas Sativus (Pineapple) Fruit Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Laminaria Digitata Extract, Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, Triethanolamine, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Codium Tomentosum Extract, Lecithin, Polysorbate 80, PEG-15 Hydroxystearate, Citric Acid, Hydrolyzed Conchiolin Protein, Polysorbate 20, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Acer Saccharum (Sugar Maple) Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel extract, Malva Sylvestris (Mallow) Flower Extract, Saccharum Officinarum (Sugar Cane) Extract, Polyglutamic Acid, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Xanthan Gum, Carbomer, Fragrance, Sodium Hydroxide, Potassium Hydroxide, Glycosphingolipids, Tocopheryl Acetate.

Review:

Again I feel like making Pirates of the Caribbean jokes whenever I mention Black Pearl (got to get over that – it seems to be a popular ingredient in K Beauty and this could get very boring!) but any excuse for a picture of Johnny, right?


Curse-Of-The-Black-Pearl-pirates-of-the-caribbean-31445275-1920-800
(source)

That will absolutely be the last time … I promise. My Beauty Diary is a very popular brand and is apparently the first brand of sheet mask that many people use. I think these people are not from the UK, as I had never heard of MBD growing up and it is not available here in the shops. The first sheet mask I ever used would probably be good old Montague Jeunesse (although famed for their wash off mask sachets, they do sheet masks as well).

Short interlude: Apparently, MJ has now changed their name and this is their new one …anyone guess why I included this? 🙂

montague jeunesse(source)

Anywhoo, this was my first experience with a My Beauty Diary Mask and I liked it! It was a thick sheet with a protective cover one side (a bit like the ones that you get with hydrogels but not usually with your bog standard sheet masks). This does make unwrapping a little easier as there is less chance of ripping it and it makes it easier to know which side to put against your face as well (the side protected by the backing sheet).

It smelt a bit perfumed but luckily that did not persist once the mask is on your face. There is plenty of essence but the mask is just right, not too soggy. It fit quite well, snug around the eyes and mouth, with the nose as usual being the problematic area. The nose on this had an especially wide bridge and that results in an awkward fit with air bubbles. The nose was also a bit short (or my nose is too long, either way). It fit nicely under the chin.

The mask had been in the fridge for a few hours when I used it so it was nice and cooling to wear. I fell asleep and woke about 2 hours later with the mask a bit dry but my skin underneath was fine. There was a little bit of essence left in the pack, which I applied, and my skin looked really nice – plumped up with fine lines diminished, hydrated, even in tone, glow-y and a bit brighter. Not really whiter though but I don’t think I can get much paler at the moment!  I would definitely like to try this one again and I can’t wait to try some of their other types as well. I have just bought a Cactus one from a UK seller and hope to order a few more.

8.5/10

Where to buy:

Ebay: £13.29 / $19.70 (for 10, free shipping) (There are plenty of other sellers as well)

Beauteque: $14.60 / £9.85 (for 10, plus shipping)

YesStyle: £9.90 / $14.70 (for 10, free shipping)


Mask No 8: Etude House Collagen Eye Patch (Korea)

DSCN0930

Description:

A hypoallergenic hydrating and intensifying elasticity eye sheet soaked with collagen essence made of natural fiber and botanicals. Collagen and essence eye mask for moisturising and revitalising under eyes. These disposable collagen eye patches are designed to make under eyes firmed and moisturised. Contain active collagen, Vitamin A and E and green tea extracts. – Hydrate & intensify elasticity of skin around eyes like baby’s skin. – Brighten and care darkened eyes with essence containing collagen and vitamin. – Tighten skin around eyes by intensifying sheet made of special natural fiber.

Ingredients:

Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, PEG-75, PEG/PPG-17/6 Copolymer, Alcohol, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Fruit Extract, Xanthan Gum,  PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Disodium EDTA, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Tocopherol, Retinol, Polysorbate-20, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance.

Review:

‘Nothing can go wrong with Etude House’ – MaskGenie. Well, she is right! I do like Etude House products, especially their masks! (see my post on a selection of Etude House Masks).

Firstly I must say how great the packaging of these is. The pouch was really easy to open by ripping down the side. Inside is a little flip tray containing the patches. This was nice and secure and kept the patches really moist. There is lots of essence, with no distinct smell. You have to remove a clear / white protective netting cover and the patches themselves (sheet not hydrogel) are even in shape rather than some eye patches that you see that are shaped like a sort of teardrop. This picture shows the shape of these pretty well.

11b1e4898f005056b743bc(source)

I did find this shape a little harder to use than the teardrop version. They do not cover as much area as you cannot fit them as closely to the shape of your under-eye. These did feel very snug and refreshing whilst on however (they had been in the fridge prior to use). They did not move around much once on yet they were easy to adjust if you needed to. They totally dried in about 30 minutes.

I could not see any particular improvement to my under eye area (although I don’t particularly suffer from dark circles) and I needed to apply an eye cream afterwards as usual, as they did not feel that moisturised. I did enjoy using them due to the cooling, refreshing, de-puffing sensation though and would use them again because of that and the convenience of individually wrapped ‘portions’ that are a lot less messy than the large pots of hydrogels like the MYPU ones from the Night Care Memebox.

6/10

Where to buy:

Etude House website: $1.00 / £0.67 (per pair, plus postage)

Tester Korea: 1000 won / £0.62 / $0.92 ( per pair, plus postage)

Ebay (f2plus1 / Beauty Net Korea): $2.99 / £2.00 (per pair, inc postage)

Ebay (Rubyruby76 / Rose Rose shop): $4.76 / £3.20 (for 5 pairs, inc postage)

Update: Whilst looking at various websites for prices I found that on Korea Depart it said that these had been discontinued by the brand. They are however still available elsewhere and on the brands website so who knows! If you are very keen, perhaps stock up!?

Mask No 9: Skinfood Black Bean Nose Pack (Korea)

DSCN0949

Description:

Containing black bean extract, this nose pack removes blackheads and dead skin on nose, keeping it clean and smooth.
Easy and convenient way to keep clean nose skin.
Removes blackheads and dead skin thoroughly. Black beans with rich nutrition provide silky skin texture. Easy sheet type nose pack.

Ingredients:

Not given on separate mask packet (presumably on the box as it comes in a set of 7).

Main ingredient: Black Bean extract

Review:

Apparently Genie found these quite difficult to get hold of so she hadn’t tried them herself. This is another black / coloured nose sheet (which are not my favorites as I find it more difficult to see the results!)

51owMEqGt0L__SX450_(Source)

The instructions given on the back amused me:

‘Identify blackheads on your nose pack by the eye’

‘A look at the used nose pack from a right angle gives you a real glance of removed blackheads’

But this is so much more difficult than it has to be on a black or coloured surface – it will always be white blackhead strips for the win for me, as I like to see the icky results.  It IS satisfying to see these things working:

216

(source)

It has been a lot less satisfying since I have been using a Clarisonic as there is much much less to extract though!

Anyway, back to the review. I really like Skinfood but this was not my favorite of their products. The strip smelt similar to the Purederm Charcoal nose strip (from Memebox) and the Etude House Green Tea one (January MaskGenie), slightly earthy and musty. Not the most pleasant smell but not a deal breaker.

The main problem that I found with this one however was that the black dye started to come off when the strip was dampened first onto my fingers and then around my nose whilst I was smoothing / pressing it on. It was seeping out of the edges!

When I removed the strip my nose was now partially dyed black and it took a bit of washing to remove this. Apart from that, the strip worked as well as any other and although difficult to see it did remove a few pesky blackheads.

I would not buy this strip again though because of the leaking dye and because it worked no better or worse than others I have used. I don’t know whether anyone else experienced this. I couldn’t find any other reviews online that mentioned this issue. My nose was no wetter than normal when I use these things and the weather was not particularly warm or humid – just an average UK March evening. Perhaps I got a dud one? I’ll give it one point less than the Etude House Green Tea from last month because of this.

5/10

Where to buy:

Tester Korea: 3400 won / £2.10 / $3.15 (for 7, plus postage)

Korea Depart: $2.62 / £1.75 (for 7, plus postage)

Ebay (rubyrubystore): £2.91 / $4.33 (for 7, including postage)


Mask No 10: Jant Blanc Coenzyme Q10 Plentiful Essential Skin Mask (Korea)

DSCN0943

Description:

The Co-enzyme Q10 ingredient will fill up the elastic fibre structure of disordered skin with ageing and supply the skin oil and water and nutrition to make a firm and healthy skin.  The hypo-allergenic moisture mask will deliver Co-enzyme Q10 essence ingredient into skin  deeply without water evaporation by highly breathable fabric.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin, Alcohol, Ubiquinone (0.005%), Cereus Grandiflorus (Cactus) Flower Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Glyceryl Caprylate, Phenoxyethanol, Triethanolamine, Carbomer, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Leaf Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Panthenol, Allantoin, Sodium Hyaluronate, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Polysorbate 80, Butylene Glycol, Fragrance, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Disodium EDTA, Hydrogenated Lecithin.

Review:

Another one that was difficult to get hold of. A rare mask 🙂

This one had been chilling in the fridge for a couple of days when I used it. There wasn’t much of a smell with this one, mainly fresh and slightly of alcohol (which it does contain – see ingredient list).

It was made of a quite thick material and is another 3D mask. It was a bit of a strange fit, there were a lot of flaps at the edges that seemed a bit too big or long for me and the essence is very watery so it did not stick very well around the outer parts of my face or indeed, anywhere that well.

The fit was great around the nose, with an extra long nose piece and snug at the sides but the strip between the nose and the mouth was too wide and either had to be bunched / folded up or drooped down over my lips. The fit under the chin is very good, as it cups the chin closely.

The information on the mask pouch did not really enlighten me as to what this mask was meant to do so I looked up Co-enzyme Q10 (otherwise known as Ubiquinone).

it is a vitamin-like, fat-soluble substance present in all human cells. It is responsible for cell protection and production of the body’s energy.

A handful of studies have shown that coenzyme Q10 (CoQ10) may have an effect on skin and the appearance of wrinkles, most notably by reducing UV damage, stimulating healthy collagen production, and reducing substances in damaged skin that wreck havoc on its support structure (Sources: Biofactors, Volume 32, 2008, pages 237–243; and November 2005, pages 179–185; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2006, pages 30–38; and www.naturaldatabase.com).

There is also research showing that sun exposure depletes the presence of CoQ10 in the skin. This is not surprising because many of the skin’s components become diminished on exposure to the sun. The latest research suggests that topical application of CoQ10 has antioxidant and anti-inflammatory effects. As such, it is one of many helpful antioxidants for skin, but it is not the only one or the “best” (Sources: Biofactors, September-October 2009, pages 435–441; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, 2005, volume 125, number 4, pages 12–13; and Journal of Dermatological Science, August 2001, Supplement, pages 1–4).’ (source)

Sounds pretty good to me! However, this is one of the first times I have ever taken off a mask at the lower end of the time suggested. This was because it was not sticking properly and kept coming away from my face. It had dried out very quickly and it was a pretty humid day so not sure why! I felt a bit leprous with bits peeling away from me  and this kept popping into my mind!

cfe6ec5d3340737c75d3e35123c067c8

I think that because the essence was so watery, it had not adhered to the mask very well as there was plenty of essence left in the packet. (If I used this one again I would add this prior to using the mask in the hope that it would stick better). I added all of this to my face and neck when I removed it. The essence felt a bit tingly but only a slight sensation.

My skin looked a bit pink (maybe the alcohol) but even and clear. It felt a bit sticky and tight though so not one to use before going anywhere. I would like to try another mask with Co-enzyme Q10 but I don’t think that I would try this one again as it was not a relaxing experience and the results were not good enough to be worth it.

5/10

Where to buy:

Ebay: $9.56  (for 5, does not ship to the UK, EVERYWHERE else but not the UK, lol …. what did we do to deserve that!)


Conclusion

Another good pouch from MaskGenie. I think the great thing about this service is that you can try out masks that you otherwise would not be able to get hold of as a one off and see if you like them enough to order more. With this and the January pouch I have discovered some masks that I have absolutely loved and want to buy more of (and indeed, have done) and also crossed some of my list that were not up to the standard I look for / did not suit my skin at all. Everyone’s skin is different and we all look for different things from a sheet mask. I hope that the information that I give helps you decide whether a mask is worth trying out, even if it was one that was not for me.

You can see the process that Genie goes through to pick the masks each month in her February unpouching video here.

Out of the 10 masks, I would definitely be buying / using 3 again (same as last month and that to me is worth the process of trial and error).

As I said at the top the new website is now up and running and the pouches that are available on the site are as follows:

58d13f_e029747fff0d4d33a3319bd99c569a11.jpg_srz_p_977_365_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srz

May pouch – order here

58d13f_127b959ad8754560a718517bfefa501e.jpg_srb_p_457_214_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srb

10 Days in the Wild Limited Edition Pouch – All animal masks 🙂 Only a few pouches left! Order here

58d13f_951487ac95624743b3c3dfaaf4cfe384.jpg_srb_p_457_214_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srb

Oriental Beauty Pouch #2 – Limited Edition, shipping 20.05.2015 – order here

Till next time – likely to be a lot more timely than this one as I have almost finished using the masks from the March pouch already!

Charlotte x

NB. All prices and availability correct at time of posting. These opinions are my own, not sponsored, often brutally honest and may include naughty words and gratuitous bunny pictures 🙂

2 thoughts on “MaskGenie – February Pouch Review

  1. Very detailed review on the mask pouch contents 🙂 I didn’t get this monthly pouch, it seems it has a very good selection again.
    I’m still working my way through the January pouch! I’m so slow :/
    Anyhow, hope you’re getting better from the dental issues. .. I hate dentists 😛 Take care xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

